EFChE - CAPE Working Party Long Term Achievements Award

grossmannProf. Ignacio E. Grossmann

Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA

Prof. Ignacio E. Grossmann is the Rudolf R. and Florence Dean University Professor of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, and director of the "Center for Advanced Process Decision-making"

At ESCAPE-27, Prof. Grossmann will receive the Long Term Achievements Award (EFChE - CAPE Working Party) in recognition of his outstanding contributions to mathematical programming modelling and optimization in chemical engineering, which have inspired our community for more than 3 decades, directly and also indirectly - through an impressive academic tree -, leaving an indelible mark on the current CAPE research and practice.

His work has significantly contributed to the expansion of the CAPE/PSE methods and tools to reach most Chemical Engineering areas (and those outside Chem. Engng. as well), not only because of his scientific leadership, but also because of his intensive involvement in teaching, training and dissemination activities, including his total support to the activities of the EFCE CAPE-WP, and his continuous participation on them.

The Award will be presented during the WCCE-10/ESCAPE-27 Opening Ceremony. After it, Professor Grossmann will deliver the WCCE-10/ESCAPE-27 inagural Lecture: "Evolution of Process Systems Engineering and Future Trends in Research"

EURECHA 2017 Student Contest Awards

First Prize granted to Flemming Holtorf, Luise Bering, Andreas Vellguth, Daniel Felder, and Pascal Padberg students at RWTH Aachen University, Germany, for their work "Screening and Optimal Design of CCU Processes using Superstructure Optimization"

Second Prize granted to Alba Carrero Parreño, Juan Diego Medrano García, and Natalia Quirante, students at Institute of Chemical Processes Engineering, University of Alicante, Spain, for their work "Carbon CO2 Reuse in Direct DME Synthesis from Syngas"
Both Awards will be presented during the ESCAPE-27 Session on CAPE/PSE Education and Training, Wednesday Oct. 4th, 11:50, room C4
  • Poster Award (1st prize): Frederico Montes, Krist V. Gernaey and Gürkan Sin (DTU): "Uncertainty and Sensitivity Analysis for an Ibuprofen Synthesis Model Based on Hoechst Path".
  • Poster Award (2nd prize): Nataliya Shcherbakova, Ivonne Rodriguez–Donis, Jens Abildskov and Vincent Gerbau (INP-ENSIACET / DTU): "Univolatility curves in ternary mixtures: geometry and numerical computation".
  • Poster Award (3rd prize): Thomas Waltermann, Daniel Münchrath and Mirko Skiborowski (TU Dortmund): "Efficient optimization-based design of energy-intensified azeotropic distillation processes".

Phone: +34 932.388.777

Maria Cubi, 4 - Pral.
08006 Barcelona (SPAIN)

Web page created by